SSC CGL 2017 – General Knowledge Quiz – Set 6

Hello and welcome to exampundit. Here is a set of General Knowledge Quiz for SSC CGL 2017 Tier I. Please let us know if you are happy with the contents.


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

1. Who was the first Viceroy of India?
(a) Lord Canning
(b) Warren Hastings
(c) Lord William Bentinck
(d) Lord Curzon
2. The Scientific Society was founded by
(a) Wilton Oldham
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Sir Syed Ahmed Khan
(d) Raja Shiv Prasad
3. Who was not associated with the Gaddar Party?
(a) Lala Hardayal
(b) Kartar Singh
(c) Ganesh Vishnu Pingle
(d) Shyamji Krishna Verma
4. Who influenced Mahadev Govind Ranade to establish Prathana Samaj in Bombay?
(a) Raja Ram Mohan Roy
(b) Devendra Nath Tagore
(c) Keshav Chandra Sen
(d) Tek Chand Mitra
5. The Revolt of 1857 was witnessed by the poet
(a) Taqi Mir
(b) Nauq
(c) Ghalib
(d) Iqbal
6. Who was the Governor General of India during the Sepoy mutiny?
(a) Lord Dalhousei
(b) Lord Canning
(c) Lord Hardinge
(d) Lord Lytton
7. The first Indian Factory Act was passed by
(a) Lord Ripon
(b) Lord Cornwallis
(c) Lord Wellesley
(d) Lord Curzon
8. Vande Mataram the national song was a part of
(a) Durgesh Nandini
(b) Anand Math
(c) Grihadaha
(d) Bhagvad-Gita
9. Young Bengal Movement was started by
(a) Alexander Duft
(b) H.V. Derozio
(c) Jonathan Duncan
(d) Swami Vivekanand
10. Who was the first Indian to become member of the British Parliament?
(a) Badruddin Tyabji
(b) W.C. Banerjee
(c) D.N. Wacha
(d) Dadabhai Naoroji
11. Who was the Viceroy of India when the British India’s capital was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi?
(a) Lord Curzon
(b) Lord Hardinge
(c) Lord Dalhousie
(d) Lord Dufferin
12. Who was the founder of All India Muslim League?
(a) Syed Ahmed Khan
(b) Mohammad Iqbal
(c) Agha Khan
(d) Nawab Salimullah Khan
13. Who said, “Swaraj is my birth right and I shall have it”?
(a) Gopal Krishna Gokhale
(b) Bal Gangadhar Tilak
(c) Bipin Chandra Pal
(d) Mahatma Gandhi
14. Who established the first Womens University of India?
(a) D.K. Karve
(b) Annie Besant
(c) Ramabai Ranade
(d) Hirabai Tata
15. The system of separate electorates was introduced by the Act of
(a) 1813
(b) 1835
(c) 1895
(d) 1909
16. Who was the first Muslim President of Indian National Congress?
(a) Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
(b) Shaukat Ali
(c) Badruddin Tyabji
(d) Muhammad Ali
17. In which of the following sessions of Indian National Congress, the resolution of Swadeshi was adopted?
(a) Madras Session 1903
(b) Bombay Session 1904
(c) Banaras Session 1905
(d) Calcutta Session 1906
18. Who was the first President of Indian National Congress?
(a) Dadabhai Naoroji
(b) William Wedderburn
(c) Allan Octavian Hume
(d) W.C. Banerjee
19. In which session of the Indian National Congress, Vande Mataram was first sung?
(a) 1886
(b) 1890
(c) 1896
(d) 1905
20. The capital of India was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi in
(a) 1910
(b) 1911
(c) 1912
(d) 1913


(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Team ExamPundit