

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

We Exam Pundit Team, has made "BOOST UP PDFS" Series to provide The Best Free PDF Study Materials on All Topics of Reasoning, Quantitative Aptitude & English Section. This Boost Up PDFs brings you questions in different level, Easy, Moderate & Hard, and also in New Pattern Questions. Each PDFs contains 50 Questions along with Explanation. For More PDF Visit: pdf.exampundit.in

RAMON MAGSAYSAY AWARD 2019

It was established in 1957 by trustees of New York City based Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Philippines government.

- The award is named after the third president of Philippines Ramon Magsaysay.
- It is awarded annually to individuals or organizations from Asia region for their selfless and philanthropic service.
- The award is internationally-recognized as the Nobel Prize and is the highest award given to Asian individuals and organization
- It carries Medallion bearing likeness of the late president Ramon Magsaysay, cash prize and a certificate.

This Ramon Magsaysay Award was given under following categories:

- Outstanding contributions in Government Service
- Public Service
- Community Leadership
- Journalism
- Literature and Creative Communication Arts
- Peace and International Understanding and Emergent Leadership.

History of Ramon Magsaysay Award:

In 1958 Ramon Magsaysay Award was given for the first time. First Indian who won this award – Acharya Vinoba Bhave for community leadership

Two Indians, who awarded among the six winners of the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award for the year 2018 are:

Dr. Bharat Vatwani	For Restoring health and dignity to troubled lives
SonamWangchuk	For Harnessing nature, culture and education for
	community progress.

Last year in 2019, Indian Journalist Ravish Kumar, NDTV has won the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019.

The four other to win The Ramon Magsaysay Award in 2019

KoSwe Win	Journalist from Myanmar for Building the quality and
	force of media's truth telling.
Angkhana Neelapaijit	Human rights Activist from Thailand
Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab	Musician from Philippines for nurturing gift and unifying
	power of music

Page 1 of 2

Join Our Telegram Group to Get Instant Notifications, Study Materials, Quizzes & PDFs: https://t.me/exampunditofficial



Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

Kim Jong-Ki	Activist working with violence and mental health issues in	
	youthfrom South Korea.	

About Ravishkumar:

- Kumar, born in Jitwarpur village in Bihar, joined New Delhi Television Network (NDTV) in 1996 and worked his way up from being a field reporter.
- He is Managing Director of NDTV India.
- Author of the book "The Free Voice On Democracy, Culture and The Nation".
- He is among five individuals who were declared winners of the award and highest honour and celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia.
- Awarded Ramon Magsaysay Award for 'Prime Time' programme deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people.

List of Awards received by Ravishkumar:

- Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi Award Hindi Journalism and creative Literature for 2010
- RamnathGoenka Excellence in Journalism Award Journalist of the Year in 2013 and 2017 for the broadcast category in Hindi language.
- Best journalist of the year in 2016 by Mumbai Press Club.
- First KuldipNayar journalism award contribution to the field of journalism- 2017.

Some other Indians who won Raman Magsaysay Award Previously:

- Political Background- ArvindKejriwal (2006) for Emerging Leadership
- Government officials for Government service category C D Desmukh(1959), KiranBedi (1994), TN Sheshan
 (1996)
- Musician- PanditRavishankar (1992), MS Subbulaxmi (1974)
- Public Service- Jaya Prakash Narayan (1965)
- Community Leadership- Aruna Roy (2000)