Republic Day Parade to Have Record 10 Chief Guests as PM Invites ASEAN Leaders

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the nation in his final radio programme for 2017; ‘Mann Ki Baat’ and he ended the 30-minute speech with an announcement that this year’s Republic Day parade will have the ASEAN leaders as chief guests.

“On January 26, the arrival of great leaders of 10 nations of the world as a unit is a matter of pride for all Indians,” Modi said in this year’s last edition of his monthly radio programme “Mann ki Baat”.

He said January 26 is a historic festival for all Indians but “January 26, 2018, will especially be remembered through the ages”.

“The Republic Day will be celebrated with leaders of all 10 (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) Asean countries coming to India as chief guests. This time, not one but 10 chief guests would grace the Republic Day. This is unprecedented in India’s history,” the Prime Minister said.

He said the year 2017 was special for both ASEAN and India because the Southeast Asian bloc completed its 50 years of formation and the year also marked 25 years of India’s partnership with the grouping.

“India looks forward to welcoming leaders” from ASEAN comprising Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Guest List


Person Nation
Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah   Brunei
Hun Sen   Cambodia
Joko Widodo   Indonesia
Thongloun Sisoulith   Laos
Najib Razak   Malaysia
Htin Kyaw   Myanmar
Rodrigo Roa Duterte   Philippines
Halimah Yacob   Singapore
Prayuth Chan-ocha  Thailand
Nguyễn Xuân Phúc   Vietnam